The King Saint Stephen Museum
The King Saint Stephen Museum is Hungary’s second largest museum with 8 exhibition spaces located in the heart of Székesfehérvár. The medieval past is brought to life within the walls of the former coronation city, through the exceptional exhibition.
The monastery was taken over by the museum in 1978 and has now become the center of the King Saint Stephen Museum. The new church and connecting monastery bordered by the Fő utca – Szt. János köz – Oskola utca streets were built in two phases between 1742 and 1756; most likely, they were based on Paul Hatzinger’s plans, who belonged to Martin Wittwer’s circle. The Pauline Fathers took over the church, monastery, and adjoining high school in 1777 from the disbanded Jesuits. However in 1786 they also disbanded; the monastery was then taken over by the military. Initially it was used for storage, and later, during the Napoleanic wars, it was converted to a hospital. In 1813, the Cistercian order came into possession of the three buildings. After the dissolution of the monastic order in 1950, a highschool dormitory was opened in the monastery.
Today the building does not only function as an exhibition space, but also as a restoration workshop, photography dark room, and a warehouse for records. Aside from the central lecture hall and research rooms for museologists, one of the country’s largest anthropological collections can be found here.
In addition to the exhibitions, we would also like to draw visitors’ attention to the newly restored beautiful stucco ornaments located in the staircase and auditorium.
What makes the exhibition unique?
We created a one of a kind exhibition where the numbers speak for themselves.